We Are Weymouth (BID), is celebrating the Jurassic Coast. 2022 marks 20 years since Dorset’s iconic coastline was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status and named The Jurassic Coast – 20 years of discoveries and 20 years of exploring this unique and beautiful coastline. To commemorate this milestone, We are Weymouth is hosting a Dinosaur Trail, supplied by Dorset council and the welcome back fund, with dinosaur models situated throughout the town and information points on this incredible time in world history. With 6 dinosaurs (ranging in size of between 4ft and 7ft) placed at key locations, visitors are able to use QR codes at each dinosaur to learn dino facts and head forwards on the trail.
Encouraging visitors to explore all the coastline has to offer the team at We Are Weymouth is working with levy payers to highlight Weymouth as the perfect location for top local attractions.
For example, Weymouth plays host to a beautiful art trail of sculpture throughout the town, all reflecting the local environment: https://news.dorsetcouncil.gov.uk/2021/11/23/installation-of-weymouth-art-trail-now-underway/
Dawn Rondeau, Chief Operations Officer at We Are Weymouth comments: “We’re so excited to launch our latest campaign ‘We Are Exploring’ alongside the Weymouth Dinosaur Trail, funded by the European Welcome Back Fund. We want to encourage locals and visitors to come and explore all Weymouth and the Jurassic Coast has to offer. We are so lucky to be based along this UNESCO World Heritage site. Weymouth offers the perfect jumping off point for those looking to come and take in the history and the sights. From fossil hunting to beach days, art trails to ghost walks – there is something for everyone. Weymouth really is a special place.”
For those looking to explore Weymouth’s comparatively more recent history, a trail of Heritage Slabs throughout the town highlight key locations which tell a story of the town’s vibrant past.
The Tudor House
Two cottages built in the early 1600s and restored in 1961 as a late Tudor townhouse which now contains a small museum.
Holy Trinity Church
Built 1834-36 of Portland stone. Extended by Crickmays in the 1880s when the Chapelhay Steps were built.
Old Town Hall
Originally three tudor cottages but substantially rebuilt in 1774 and 1896. Now a venue for community events.
Ralph Allen’s House
The summer residence from 1750-63 of the Bath stone entrepreneur credited with making Weymouth fashionable.
St Mary’s Church
Built in 1817, this church with its simple cupola contains Sir James Thornhill’s splendid painting of “The Last Supper”.
The Custom House
Built as a merchant’s house in 1800 and bearing the Royal Arms over its doorway from its later use as the Custom House.
With six more installations by Easter.